Service Music


Sunday 17th April 2016 (Third Sunday after Easter)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 110, 104, 120



Sunday 24th April 2016 (Fourth Sunday after Easter, Celebration of St Mary)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 170, 342(i), 408(i)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:15pm)

Hymns: sheet, 123, 120
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 98, Woodward
Canticles: Wood in E flat (no.1)
Anthem: Thanks be to God (Messiah), Handel
Preacher: The Chaplain



Wednesday 27th April 2016

Compline (9:30pm)



Thursday 28th April 2016

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 224 (t.178), 468
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 104.1-10, 'Trent'
Canticles: Noble in b
Anthem: Christus factus est, Bruckner



Sunday 1st May 2016 (Fifth Sunday after Easter)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 440, 280, 477

Choral Evensong with Address (6:15pm)

Hymns: 352 (omit v.3), 107, 373
Introit: God be in my head, Rutter
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 126, 127, Turle, Goss
Canticles: Noble in b
Anthem: O clap your hands, Vaughan Williams
Preacher: The Rt Rev'd Christopher Lowson, Bishop of Lincoln



Thursday 5th May 2016 (Ascension Day)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 135, 129, 338

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 130(i, omit vv.4-5), 134
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 8, Macfarren
Canticles: Stanford in G
Anthem: Am Himmelfahrstage, Mendelssohn



Sunday 8th May 2016 (The Sunday after Ascension)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 433, 457(ii), 376

Choral Evensong with Address (6:15pm)

Hymns: 372, 128(ii), 334
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 68.1-10, 18-19, Murrill
Canticles: Stanford in G
Anthem: God is gone up, Fiinzi
Preacher: Mr Andrew Robinson, Pastor, Woodstock Road Baptist Church, Oxford



Wednesday 11th May 2016

Compline (9:30pm)



Thursday 12th May 2016

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 456, 383(ii, omit *)
Responses: Rose
Canticles: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: Jesu dulcis memoria, Joseph Vella



Sunday 15th May 2016 (Whitsunday, Commemoration of Benefactors)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 140, 431, 367(ii)

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 137, booklet, 436
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 145, Lawes, Turle, Howells
Canticles: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: For the beauty of the earth, Rutter



Thursday 19th May 2016

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 445, 397
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 138, Ley
Canticles: St Paul's Service, Howells
Anthem: Ave Maria, Bruckner



Sunday 22nd May 2016 (Trinity Sunday)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 466, 103, 146

Choral Evensong with Address (6:15pm)

Hymns: 351, 128(ii), 433
Introit: Hymn to the Trinity, Tchaikovsky
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 73.1-3, 16-19, Skeats junior
Canticles: St Paul's Service, Howells
Anthem: Hymn to the mother of God, Tavener
Preacher: Dr Gareth Atkins, Postdoctoral Research Fellow (CRASSH) and Joint Director of Studies in History



Wednesday 25th May 2016

Compline (9:00pm)



Thursday 26th May 2016

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 439(ii, omit *), 252
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 23, Hylton Stewart, arr. Hellyer Jones
Canticles: Wood in E flat (no.1)
Anthem: Tenebrae lumini, Peter Relph



Sunday 29th May 2016 (First Sunday after Trinity)

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 427, 271, 372

Vespers (6:15pm)

Preacher: The Rt Rev'd Christopher Goldsmith, Bishop of St. Germans
Sung by the Benedictine monks of Douai Abbey, Berkshire



Thursday 2nd June 2016

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 446, 267
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 40.1-7, Howells
Canticles: Dyson in D
Anthem: Ach arme Welt, Brahms



Sunday 5th June 2016 (Second Sunday after Trinity)

Choral Evensong with Address (12:00am)

Hymns: 452, 245, 478
Introit: Deep river, Trad. arr. Hellyer Jones
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 147.1-12, Stanford
Canticles: Dyson in D
Anthem: Hallelujah Chorus (Messiah), Handel
Preacher: The Master

Holy Communion (9:00am)

Hymns: 132, 137, 339



Thursday 9th June 2016 (Choir Leaver's Service)

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Music to be announced



Sunday 12th June 2016 (Third Sunday after Trinity)

Holy Communion with Baptism (2:00pm)



Wednesday 22nd June 2016 (Leaver's Service)

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 334, 368



Friday 22nd July 2016 (St Mary Magdalene)

Holy Communion (8:15am)

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Music to be announced