Service Music


Sunday 22nd January 2012 (Epiphany III)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 47, sheet, 52
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 33.1-12, Robinson
Canticles: Dyson in D
Anthem: Dum transisset sabbatum, Tallis
Preacher: Prof Tina Beattie, Roehampton University



Wednesday 25th January 2012

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 26th January 2012

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 57, 50 (vv.1-3)
Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 119.33-48, Pye, Turle
Canticles: Walmisley in D
Anthem: Bethlehem Down, Warlock



Sunday 29th January 2012 (Epiphany IV)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 48, 44, 373
Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 34.1-10, Ouseley
Canticles: Walmisley in D
Anthem: Jauchzet dem Herrn, Shutz
Preacher: Rt Revd Stephen Conway, Lord Bishop of Ely



Wednesday 1st February 2012

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 2nd February 2012 (Candlemas)

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 392, 478
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 119.49-56, Attwood
Canticles: St Paul's Service, Howells
Anthem: Blessed are the pure in heart, Walford Davies



Sunday 5th February 2012 (III before Lent)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 492, 49 (t.192), 437
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 5, Flintoft
Canticles: St Paul's Service, Howells / Croft
Anthem: Beati quorum via sunt, Stanford
Preacher: Revd Canon Dr Stephen Cherry



Tuesday 7th February 2012

Corporate Communion (6:45pm)

Hymns: 377, 295, 368
Anthem: Bogoroditsye Dyevo, Rachmaninov
Setting: Collegium Regale, Howells



Sunday 12th February 2012 (II before Lent)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 433, 341, 332
Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 65, Turle
Canticles: Cooke / St Paul's Service, Howells
Anthem: Hear my prayer, Purcell
Preacher: The Chaplain



Wednesday 15th February 2012

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 16th February 2012

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 365, 443
Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 119.57-72, Luther, Howells
Canticles: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: Thou wilt keep him, SS Wesley



Sunday 19th February 2012 (Sunday next before Lent)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 476, 431, 359 (t.322)
Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 2, Randall
Canticles: D Purcell in e
Anthem: Bring us, O Lord God, Harris
Preacher: Prof Duffy



Wednesday 22nd February 2012 (Ash Wednesday)

Holy Communion (8:00pm)

Hymns: 374, 70 (t.i), 393



Friday 24th February 2012 (Celebration of Samuel Pepys' birthday)

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 436, 205
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 107.23-32, Goss
Canticles: D Purcell in e
Anthem: Behold, O God our defender, Blow



Saturday 25th February 2012

Choral Evensong at Norwich Cathedral (3:30pm)



Sunday 26th February 2012 (Lent I)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 67, 239, 334
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 119.17-32, Elvey and Goss
Canticles: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: Lamentations I, Tallis
Preacher: Dr Hyam



Wednesday 29th February 2012

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 1st March 2012

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 391, 368
Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 142, Hylton Stewart
Canticles: Murrill in E
Anthem: Locus iste, Bruckner



Sunday 4th March 2012 (Lent II)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 408 tii omit 2, 90 omit 3, 333 omit 3-4
Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 135.1-14, Turle
Canticles: Murrill in E
Anthem: If ye love me, Tallis
Preacher: Bishop Barrington-Ward, KCMG



Thursday 8th March 2012

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 253, 64
Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 71.1-14, Elvey
Canticles: Fourth Service, Batten
Anthem: Vexilla regis, Bruckner



Sunday 11th March 2012 (Lent III)

Choral Evensong with Cantata (6:30pm)

Hymns: 467, 244
Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 43, S Wesley
Canticles: Fourth Service, Batten
Cantata: Nimm, was dein ist, und gehe hin (BWV 144), JS Bach