Service Music


Sunday 23rd January 2011 (Epiphany III)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Reading
Psalm: 33.1-12, Robinson
Canticles: Stanford in C
Anthem: O Thou the central orb, Wood
The Sermon will be given by Dr Simon Gathercole, Faculty of DivinityHymns: 52, 393, 186



Wednesday 26th January 2011

Sung Compline 10:00pm

Men's voices



Thursday 27th January 2011

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 24, Barnaby
Canticles: Dyson in F
Anthem: Hear the voice and prayer, Tallis
Hymns: 225 (t.i), 446



Sunday 30th January 2011 (Epiphany IV)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 34.1-10, Ouseley
Canticles: Dyson in F
Anthem: Super flumina, Palestrina
The Sermon will be given by The Right Revd Dr Christopher CocksworthHymns: 48, 224 (t.178), 362



Wednesday 2nd February 2011

Sung Compline 10:00pm

Ladies' voices



Thursday 3rd February 2011

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 18.1-14, Lord Mornington
Canticles: Howells Gloucester service
Anthem: Teach me O Lord, Attwood
Hymns: 57, 473 (t.ii omit *)



Sunday 6th February 2011 (Epiphany V)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 4, Attwood
Canticles: Howells Gloucester service
Anthem: O Lorde the maker of al thing, Joubert
The Sermon will be given by The Revd Dr Will Lamb, Vice-Principal of Westcott HouseHymns: 55, 44, 352 (omit v.3)



Thursday 10th February 2011

Corporate Communion 6:45pm

Anthem: Ave verum, Byrd
Hymns: 436, 485, 420
Setting: Sumsion in F



Sunday 13th February 2011

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Reading
Psalm: 13, Hylton Stewart, Parisian Tone
Canticles: Davy / Rimbault
Anthem: Crucifixus, Lotti
The Sermon will be given by The ChaplainHymns: 433, 372, 244



Wednesday 16th February 2011

Sung Compline 10:00pm

Men's voices



Thursday 17th February 2011

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 45, Jones
Canticles: Sumsion in A
Anthem: Purge me O Lord, Tallis
Hymns: 366, 457 (t.ii)



Sunday 20th February 2011 (Septuagesima)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 18.20-30, Norris
Canticles: Sumsion in A
Anthem: Geistliches Lied, Brahms
The Sermon will be given by Professor Markus Bockmuehl, University of OxfordHymns: 383 (t.ii omit *), sheet, 373



Friday 25th February 2011 (Celebration of Samuel Pepys' birthday)

Choral Evensong 6:15pm

Responses: Reading
Psalm: 107.23-32, Goss
Canticles: Purcell in g
Anthem: I was glad, Purcell
Hymns: 419, 205



Sunday 27th February 2011 (Sexagesima)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Reading
Psalm: 148, Willcocks
Canticles: Purcell in g
Anthem: Agnus Dei, Morley
The Sermon will be given by Professor Judith Lieu, Lady Margaret's Professor of DivinityHymns: 332 (omit *), 391, 440 (omit *)



Wednesday 2nd March 2011

Sung Compline 10:00pm

Ladies' voices



Thursday 3rd March 2011

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 94.1-8, Clark
Canticles: Gibbons Short service
Anthem: Lord, let me know mine end, Greene
Hymns: 439 (t.ii omit *), 359 (t.322)



Sunday 6th March 2011 (Quinquagesima)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 84, J Camidge Jr
Canticles: Gibbons Second service
Anthem: Almighty and Everlasting God, Gibbons
The Sermon will be given by The Revd Kenneth Padley, Warden of Church HostelHymns: 431, 456, 476



Wednesday 9th March 2011 (Ash Wednesday)

Sung Eucharist 8:00pm

Setting: Darke in F



Thursday 10th March 2011

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Reading
Psalm: 74.1-12, Smart
Canticles: Tallis Short Service
Anthem: Out of the deep, Morley
Hymns: 95, 64



Sunday 13th March 2011 (Lent I)

Choral Evensong with Cantata 6:30pm

Responses: Reading
Psalm: 50.1-15, Goss
Canticles: Tallis Short Service
Hymns: 86 (omit *), 464, 253
Cantata: Es wartet alles auf dich (BWV 187), J S Bach