Service Music


Sunday 25th April 2010 (St Mark the Evangelist)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 45.1-8, J Jones
Canticles: Magdalen College Service, Howells
Anthem: By and by, Tippett
The Sermon will be given by The Revd John ProctorHymns: 113, 186 (t.486), 120



Thursday 29th April 2010

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Introit: Nobody knows, Tippett
Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 149, Stanford
Canticles: Magdalen College Service, Howells
Hymns: 360, 468



Sunday 2nd May 2010 (Mary Magdalene Celebration)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 42.1-10, S Wesley
Canticles: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: Dum transisset, Johnson
The Sermon will be given by The Right Revd Graham JamesHymns: 296 (omit v.3), 123, 373



Wednesday 5th May 2010

Sung Compline 10:00pm



Thursday 6th May 2010 (John the Evangelist)

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Jackson
Psalm: 104.1-10, 'Trent' (Sydney Bevan)
Canticles: Short Service, Tallis
Anthem: Ubi caritas, Durufle
Hymns: 449, 345



Sunday 9th May 2010 (Easter V)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Jackson
Psalm: 126, Turle
Canticles: Short Service, Tallis
Anthem: Thy word is a lantern, Purcell
The Sermon will be given by The Revd Canon Mark RobertsHymns: 433, 342 (t.178), 413



Wednesday 12th May 2010

Sung Compline 10:00pm



Thursday 13th May 2010 (Ascension Day)

Choral Evensong 6:15pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 8, Macfarren
Canticles: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: Ave verum corpus, Mozart
Hymns: 134, 130 (t.i)



Sunday 16th May 2010 (Sunday after Ascension Day)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 68.1-13, 18-19, Murrill
Canticles: Bayley / Holst
Anthem: God is gone up, Finzi
The Sermon will be given by Professor DuffyHymns: 352, 267, 331



Monday 17th May 2010

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 138, Ley
Canticles: Ireland in F
Anthem: Hail glorious spirits, Tye
Hymns: 337, 478



Thursday 20th May 2010

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 139.1-11, Hylton Stewart
Canticles: Ireland in F
Anthem: In pace, Blitheman
Hymns: 456, 393 (t.ii)



Sunday 23rd May 2010 (Whit Sunday, Comm. of Benefactors)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 145, Lawes, Turle, Howells
Canticles: Ireland in F
Anthem: O sing joyfully, Batten



Thursday 3rd June 2010

Choral Evensong 6:30pm

Responses: Jackson
Psalm: 23, Hylton Stewart
Canticles: Purcell in g
Anthem: Go down, Moses, Tippett
Hymns: 475, 396



Sunday 6th June 2010 (Trinity I)

Choral Evensong with Address 6:30pm

Responses: Jackson
Psalm: 44.1-9, Hopkins
Canticles: Purcell in g
Anthem: Rejoice in the Lamb, Britten
The Sermon will be given by The ChaplainHymns: 334, 397, 368



Thursday 10th June 2010

Choral Evensong 6:30pm