Service Music


Sunday 17th January 2010 (Epiphany II)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 47, 408 (t.ii omit v.2), 52
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 96, Knight
Canticles: Purcell in B flat
Anthem: A child is born, Scheidt
Preacher: Bishop Simon Barrington-Ward



Wednesday 20th January 2010

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 21st January 2010

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 57, 50
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 111, Turle
Canticles: Willan in E flat
Anthem: O praise the Lord, Batten



Sunday 24th January 2010 (Epiphany III)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 48, 44, 332 (omit *)
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 33.1-12, Robinson
Canticles: Willan in E flat
Anthem: Save us O Lord, Bairstow
Preacher: The Revd Patrick Taylor



Thursday 28th January 2010

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 186, 478
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 33.13-end, Robinson
Canticles: Wood in F
Anthem: Sancta Maria, Lheritier



Sunday 31st January 2010 (Septuagesima)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 492, 49 (t.192), 437
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 34.1-10, Ouseley
Canticles: Wood in F
Anthem: O pray for the peace of Jerusalem, Howells
Preacher: Sr Gemma Simmonds CJ



Tuesday 2nd February 2010 (Candlemas)

Corporate Communion (6:45pm)

Hymns: 334, 297, 186
Anthem: Verily I say unto you, Tallis
Preacher: The Revd Hannah Hobday
Setting: Darke in F



Sunday 7th February 2010 (Sexagesima)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 433, 341, 373
Responses: Tompkins
Psalm: 147.1-12, Stanford
Canticles: Hopkins / Batten in a
Anthem: Evening Hymn, Balfour Gardiner
Preacher: The Revd Canon Hugh Wybrew



Wednesday 10th February 2010

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 11th February 2010

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 365, 443
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 40.1-13, Howells
Canticles: Finzi / 1st tone
Anthem: Teach me O Lord, Byrd



Sunday 14th February 2010 (Quinquagesima)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 359 (t.322), 476, 431
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 89.1-12, Norris
Canticles: Finzi / Hindle
Anthem: Deep river, Tippett
Preacher: The Chaplain



Wednesday 17th February 2010 (Ash Wednesday)

Sung Eucharist (8:00pm)

Hymns: 333 (omit vv.3-4), 295 (vv.1,2,4), 393
Anthem: Is it nothing to you, Ouseley



Thursday 18th February 2010

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 76, 95
Responses: Tomkins
Psalm: 74.1-12, Smart
Canticles: St John's Service, Howells
Anthem: O God, thou hast cast us out, Purcell



Sunday 21st February 2010 (Lent I)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 67, 239, 74
Responses: Tomkins
Psalm: 119.73-88, Skeats, Stanford
Canticles: 2nd tone / Stanford in B flat
Anthem: O Holy Spirit, Lord of Grace, Tye
Preacher: The Revd Dr Adrian Chatfield



Wednesday 24th February 2010

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Friday 26th February 2010 (Pepys Commemoration)

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 419, 205
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 55.1-8, H Lawes
Canticles: Purcell in B flat
Anthem: O God the King of glory, Purcell



Sunday 28th February 2010 (Lent II)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 77, 90 (omit v.3), 394
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 135.1-14, Turle
Canticles: St John's Service, Howells
Anthem: Bogoroditsye Dyevo, Rachmaninov
Preacher: The Venerable John Beer



Thursday 4th March 2010

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 253, 64
Responses: Tomkins
Psalm: 71.1-14, Elvey
Canticles: Byrd Short Service
Anthem: O turn thy wrath, Byrd



Sunday 7th March 2010 (Lent III)

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: sheet, 82, 244
Responses: Tomkins
Psalm: 13, Hylton Stewart, Parisian Tone
Canticles: Byrd Short Service
Cantata: Du wahrer Gott und Davids Sohn, J S Bach



Wednesday 10th March 2010

Sung Compline (10:00pm)