Service Music


Sunday 18th January 2009 (Epiphany II)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 52, 393, 47
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 119.1-16, Soaper, Hopkins
Canticles: Blow in the Dorian mode
Anthem: When to the temple Mary went, Eccard
Preacher: The Dean of Ely Cathedral



Thursday 22nd January 2009

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 225 (t.i), 446
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 119.17-32, Elvey, Goss
Canticles: Stanford in A
Anthem: Beati quorum, Stanford



Sunday 25th January 2009

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 48, 224 (t.178), 362
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 119.41-48
Canticles: Stanford in A
Anthem: If ye love me, Tallis
Preacher: The Chaplain



Wednesday 28th January 2009

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 29th January 2009

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 57, 475
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 24, Barnaby
Canticles: Gibbons Short service
Anthem: Almighty and Everlasting God, Gibbons



Sunday 1st February 2009 (Epiphany IV)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 55, 44, 352 (omit v.3)
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 132.1-13, Walford Davies
Canticles: Ireland in F
Anthem: Jehova, quam multi sunt hostes, H Purcell
Preacher: Canon Martin Seeley



Thursday 5th February 2009

Corporate Communion (6:45pm)

Hymns: 473 (t.ii, omit *), 274, 492
Anthem: Ave verum corpus, Byrd
Setting: Darke in F



Sunday 8th February 2009 (3rd Sunday before Lent)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 433, 372, 244
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 5, Flintoft
Canticles: Purcell in g
Anthem: Let thy hand be strengthened, Handel
Preacher: Revd Oliver Ross



Wednesday 11th February 2009

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 12th February 2009

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 366, 457 (t.ii)
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 40.1-13, Turle
Canticles: Dyson in D
Anthem: Ach, arme Welt, Brahms



Sunday 15th February 2009 (2nd Sunday before Lent)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 383 (t.ii omit *), sheet
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 65, Turle
Canticles: Gibbons Short service
Anthem: O clap your hands, Gibbons
Preacher: Revd Dr Andrew Davison



Friday 20th February 2009 (Celebration of Samuel Pepys' birthday)

Choral Evensong (6:15pm)

Hymns: 419, 205
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 38.1-10
Canticles: Blow in the Dorian mode
Anthem: Behold, O God our defender, Blow



Sunday 22nd February 2009 (Sunday next before Lent)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 332 (omit *), 431, 440 (omit *)
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 2, Randall
Canticles: Hopkins / Ireland in F
Anthem: Let thy merciful ears, Mudd
Preacher: Fr Peter Macleod-Miller



Wednesday 25th February 2009 (Ash Wednesday)

Sung Compline (10:00pm)



Thursday 26th February 2009

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 95, 64
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 74.1-12, Smart
Canticles: H Purcell in g
Anthem: Lord, let me know mine end, Greene



Sunday 1st March 2009 (Lent I)

Choral Evensong with Address (6:30pm)

Hymns: 67, 456, 391
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 119.33-40, Pye
Canticles: Dyson in D
Anthem: O nata lux, Tallis
Preacher: The Chaplain



Thursday 5th March 2009

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 439 (t.ii omit *), 359 (t.322)
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 142, Hylton Stewart
Canticles: Ireland in F
Anthem: Let justice and judgement, Handel



Sunday 8th March 2009 (Lent II)

Choral Evensong (6:30pm)

Hymns: 76, 464, 253
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 137, Hemmings
Canticles: Gibbons Short service